The Five Model Sections

The Five Model Sections

Individual care
In this section of the model, residents’ living needs before admission, upon admission, day-to-day, over time and in response to changes are considered. It looks at both their personal and interaction needs and how these needs are assessed over time. It also assesses the choices residents have in the provision of care, the attitudes and behaviours of care staff and the home’s mealtime experience.

Additional needs care
This section is assessed in addition to the Residential Care Model and depends on the CQC registration category of the home. This includes people who require nursing care or mental health care.

Lifestyle care
Lifestyle care focuses on the facilities and services that impact on the quality of life of the home’s residents. It considers the home’s attempts to create a pleasant living environment and its social programme. It also considers the additional facilities and services that are accessible by residents within the home or in the local community.

Residential care
Residential care analyses the home’s ability to deliver best practice through efficient management systems. It looks at the management and administration of the home, the recruitment and knowledge of its personnel, the working practices of staff and adherence to health & safety as well as its responsiveness to change.

Commitment to continuous care improvement
This section looks at the home’s on-going commitment to improving standards. It focuses on how the management of the business defines direction and how they actively manage the business and culture to ensure that service needs are met. This involves looking at business performance, staff performance, quality standards and the training and development of personnel.